Nowadays, the traditions and customs relating to the food we eat and the way we eat are changing. Why is this happening? Do you think this kind of change is positive or negative?

These days, the traditions and customs surrounding our food and how we eat are changing. In my opinion this happens because the line between cultures is now very thin but it has its pros and cons.

On the one hand this is a huge disadvantage for several reasons. First of all, because there is a risk of loss of cultural heritage. By replacing national dishes, people can completely forget about their own cultural characteristics associated with certain dishes or holidays. For instance, kazakhs prepare a traditional soup called “nauryz kozhe” for the spring holiday Nauryz and people should preserve this tradition.Because it is a cultural heritage from the ancestors. Secondly unhealthy diet. Increased consumption of fast food and processed foods can have a negative impact on health, leading to obesity and other diseases. For example, most humans in the USA constantly eat fast food, and because of this, a vast majority of them suffer from obesity. According to the indicators of 2023, 70% of the population is experiencing problems with overweight and this is primarily due to unhealthy diet like fast food.

On the other hand, it has several advantages. One of the advantages is the variety in the dishes. Access to various cuisines allows people to try new flavours and ingredients, thereby enriching our diet. For instance, the kazakh people have always eaten meat, but in the last twenty years kazakhs began to try other cuisines such as japanese. Japanese cuisine is rich in seafood such as oysters, lobsters, seaweed, shrimp which was initially unusual for kazakhs. Also, Europeans and Asians can discover new tastes for each other. Understanding and accepting different culinary traditions promotes cultural exchange and the improvement of intercultural relations.

In conclusion, alteration in traditional food have both good and bad consequences. I hope that these changes will not negatively affect humanity in any way.