Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is true that new technologies have had an influence on communication

between people. Technology has affected relationships in various ways,

and in my opinion there are both positive and negative effects.

Technology has had an impact on relationships in business, education

and social life. Firstly, telephones and the Internet allow business people

in different countries to interact without ever meeting each

other. Secondly, services like Skype create new possibilities for

relationships between students and teachers. For example, a student can

now take video lessons with a teacher in a different city or

country. Finally, many people use social networks, like Facebook, to

make new friends and find people who share common interests, and they

interact through their computers rather than face to face.

On the one hand, these developments can be extremely positive.

Cooperation between people in different countries was much more

difficult when communication was limited to written letters or telegrams.

Nowadays, interactions by email, phone or video are almost as good as

face-to-face meetings, and many of us benefit from these interactions,

either in work or social contexts. On the other hand, the availability of new

communication technologies can also have the result of isolating people

and discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people

choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in the

real world, and these ‘virtual’ relationships are a poor substitute for real

friendships.

In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionized communication

between people, but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been

positive.