Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?

In many cases, students graduate from school lacking basic money-management skills. While this problem can largely be attributed to limited parental engagement and a lack of financial awareness, several practical measures can be introduced to improve students’ knowledge about budgeting.

A number of underlying factors explain why school-leavers are not good at saving money. Chief among them is that typical schools focus more on academic subjects like history, biology, and literature rather than practical life skills. Given that, managing money calls for more experience in terms of using money only when it is necessary, many schools ignore that. Another factor that comes into play is related to students’ parents. Unfortunately, by providing them with money for a long time without proper guidance, their children are more likely to waste it irresponsibly.

Having said that, a range of practical solutions can be implemented to help students in terms of money-management. To begin with, adding extra lessons about long-term life skills could prove highly beneficial. Over time, students learn how to keep their money by taking part in practical activities after school classes and they get more ideas from real-life examples.

Parents also have a vital role to play in addressing this issue. Discussions about budgeting from an early age, guidance on how to spend their money can equip students with skills needed to manage money responsibly.

In conclusion, not having the necessary skills to save money stems from a number of factors. Only when regular compulsory classes are conducted at schools and stricter parental guidance is provided will the issue be remedied.