Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

While some people believe an new advancement of technologies allow us to stay connected easily with loved ones with new phones and gadgets, I would argue that drawbacks of this as individuals now facing difficulties communicating face-to-face, lacking empathy to really understand each other.

Appearing new smartphones, people can interact with each other faster and easier than ever. Applications such as Skype and Messenger, with the Wifi connection, everyone can talk with their close friends and families no matter how distant they live far away. Conversely, in the past, some effective tools to spread information was dominated by books, newspapers and letters by mail. It has dramatically changed how we can access to information and share our thoughts. Thanks to this new development, we can get information quickly and be on the same page with everyone.

On the contrary, this social notion has declined people’s communication skills on the grounds that people no longer appreciate being get in touch with each other with meaningless short text conversations. For instance, one survey suggests that young student’s reading skills scores have tremendously declined compared to these results in 1990s. Currently, the generation Z has an access to computers and the internet from birth and they the master of using those tools. However, they only engage in exchanging short messages, lacking writing skills that requires patient and time to write. They live in a fast paced world, and they tend to spend less time talking to real friends. Consequently, their ability to understand other people’s feelings and sense of connection has weakened.

In conclusion, technologies have empowered us to communicate without worrying about being in foreign countries or at a different time zone. Despite these benefits, we need to consider how we can use these tools effectively, not to being reluctant to take a quality time to understand other’s feelings.