Nowadays there are more workers working from home and more students studying from home due to the fact that computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. To what extent do the benefits of computer technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The surging affordability and accessibility of technological innovations have undeniably transformed the modern workplace and educational landscape, resulting in a marked increase in remote work and distance learning. Nevertheless, there is a contention over whether computer technology is as beneficial as it seems. I would contend that the advantages of technological development substantially outweigh the potential drawbacks.

To commence, digital technology offers a plethora of resources that can be used via the internet. In turn, more materials lead to a comprehensive understanding, as a person is able to not only look at the subject from different perspectives but also to find the clearest source of information for themselves. For instance, once I was studying human anatomy, and the topic in my course book seemed to be beyond my comprehension. Upon researching this perplexing theme online, I was presented with a myriad of resources. To my surprise, detailed 3D models, which rotated for different angles, and educational videos were lucid even for me who was never someone of a sharp mind. Furthermore, I appreciated the ability to learn the material at my own pace, reinforcing the notion that technology enhances educational experience.

An additional point for my stance is that remote work and study allow people to design their schedule themselves, which creates flexibility and autonomy, eliminating stressful commuting and enhancing productivity. For example, my friend Ann works from home as an IT specialist. It is the most convenient way for her because she is a night owl and detests waking up with the first rays of sun. Ann designs her schedule herself. Hence, she is really stress-resilient and productive.

Conversely, some people argue that the erosion of official office or school frameworks might lead to blurred boundaries between professional and personal lives, causing a potential burnout. Without physical separation from work, employees can feel pressured to be always available. For example, my friend Paul was working remotely from home, and when he was on vacation, he was forced to do some additional tasks, so Paul couldn’t fully enjoy the leasure. Now my friend is suffering from burnout.

In conclusion, I would argue that computer technologies are predominantly advantageous in contemporary society. Despite the fact that they possess a valid concern about work-life balance, technological innovations provide an opportunity to be more flexible, boosting one’s productivity. In addition, computer developments provide unlimited access to a variety of engaging informational sources, making studying easy and enjoyable.