Nowadays there is such a variety of digital resources available for students to use in class that the role of the teacher could be completely replaced. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that it is unnecessary for teachers to be involved into the learning process, as students now have an access to a wide range of online resources. I agree with this statement to a certain degree, since there are a lot of opportunities for pupils to self-study; however I believe that teachers’ expertise is a key factor in students’ success.

Due to the rapid advancement in technologies, self-studying has become a straightforward and favourable approach. Students are now able to acquire new knowledge by using apps which suggest different methods, based on their weaknesses and strengths. As a case in point, a digital platform called StudyFetch provides a virtual space with an AI tutour to help people study better. It provides a learning-plan, specially designed for each user, considering their performance and goals. For instance, if a student wants to study a particular topic in a very limited period of time, artificial intelegence will create the most suitable plan to achieve this aim. Moreover it will track their performance and may provide additional exercises to close the gaps.

On the other hand, teachers can have a better influence on pupils’ success in studying. To start with, during obtaining a degree in teaching, they are specially educated how to work with children and present the information in an engaging way. This knowledge prevent students from being overwhelmed with baffling information provided in books. For instance, an educator might convert tedious materials into a creative game, such as playing with a paper cake slices to learn fractions. Furthermore, since educators are experts in a specific field, they provide accurate and relevant content, which may be a challenge for various digital resources. For example, many articles on the internet may contain distorted information which is likely to confuse a pupil; thus, a teacher appears to be a reliable source of knowledge.

In conclusion, cutting-edge materials and facilities deminish the need of a teacher in class, as children have more posibilities to study on their own. Despite this, I am inclined to believe that educators still remain irreplaceble, owing to the expertise in their field.