Nowadays, young people admire sport stars though they often do not set good examples. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is commonly debated that the youth have admiration of famous sportsmen despites of their mistakes. This essay is going to discuss this statement by presenting, first, its positive impacts , followed by its detrimental aspects.

On one hand, there are two positive impacts in this regard. First, becoming a well-known sportsman requires a geater effort and perseverance to succeed. This is because sport stars have to experience strict pratices to improve their skill. For example, a famous soccer, Ronaldo, has spent at least 6 hours per day practicing to enhance his fitness and skills. So his success has inspired a vast number of the young football ethusiasts. As a result, they would learn from their idol for hard work and dedication to achieve their goals. Second, the young admire their idols’ success, which leads them to try them best rather than giving up. They can see their idol as a great role model for them when they face challenges in their lives. This can stimulate them to go forwards.

On the other hand, there are two detrimental aspects to consider. Primarily, some sport stars can misbehave in their lives. This can lead to the youth imitate their actions. For instance, if they get involved in crime or drugs but young people think it is harmless and do follow, they can be get into trouble in their lives. This can be detrimental for the safety of society with the increasing number of criminals. Additionally, well-known athletes’ actions can cause negative impacts on the young coginition, which instills bad habits in adolescents and distort their thoughts when they think their idols do all things is right. Because the youth do not have enough awareness of bad behaviors, resulting in misleading what their idol has performed, and they consider it as a cool actions.

In conclusion, I have examined the positive impacts, particularly in terms of their cognitiions and societal safety, are outweigh the detrimental aspects.