Nowadays,famalies are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this .why is this happening?do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawback

In this era, there is a lack of closeness amongst family members compared to earlier times, and many individuals have grown accustomed to this change. This is due to the fact that the modern life style made everyone busier than before, leaving limited time for family interactions. In my opinion, there are more benefits than drawbacks because although there will be reduced social cohesion, a high level of autonomy may be given.

The fast-paced modern life is responsible for the decline in family closeness. Every day, individuals often have to satisfy the challenging work demands and take multiple responsibilities, making it significantly harder to spend more quality time with the family and nurture close relationships. If sufficient time is not given for work, then work productivity will be reduced and opportunities might be lost. Therefore, the changes led people to prioritize career goals over family bonds. For example: An employee may allocate a significant number of working hours towards night shifts instead of returning home and having a family dinner, contributing to a strain on the familial relationships.

Despite the lack of warmth amongst family members, this gives more room for freedom to explore their own interests. They are able to learn from mistakes and find out the best ways to improve. Developing a self-awareness of one’s flaws is critical to becoming an independent individual in the future. Without it, children will lose the sense of direction and confidence in one’s abilities. For instance: A child was denied to spend time with his friends, making it difficult for him to make friends in college.

In conclusion, a decline in family interactions is because of the demands of the modern life. While this provides a lot of freedom, it weakens the family bonds.