Nowadays,famalies are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this .why is this happening?do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawback

It is true that today, people are less in touch with their close knit families and the majority of people are getting used to it. There are several reasons that lead to this situation, which are discussed later in this essay. I believe that this trend can do more harm than good to regular people.

Nowadays, families have fallen apart and there are two main factors to blame in this regard. Firstly, upon the advent of the internet and social media, people tend to spend most of their time online. A vast majority of people are mostly spending time surfing the internet, playing video games and chatting online instead of in person. As a result, they turn out to be sitting with their family but not communicating with each other since they are dissolved in their cellphones. Secondly, according to the fast pace of modern life, individuals lack enough time to spend with their close ones. To clarify, they are supposed to be working hard to earn a living or be on their way while commuting to and from work. Hence, individuals are too tired to interact with others in their leisure time.

If this trend continues, people will suffer from depression and public isolation since communication is a vital factor for human beings to have a good state of mental health. Each person needs to interact with others in real life, while performing miscellaneous roles like a coworker, a student, a teacher and many other roles, which requires social skills. This is while family interactions play a pivotal role in learning social skills and reducing these types of communications can lead to a lack of essential social skills. Accordingly, depression and isolation may occur which are absolute down sides of this trend and there is nothing good about it.

To conclude, lack of enough time due to fast paced lives and great increase in usage of social media has led to a massive decline in intimate communications among families which can do more harm than good.