Obesity is an increasing public health problem in some parts of the world. Explain some possible reasons for this problem, and suggest some solutions.

One of the public health problems being faced nowadays in several countries of the world is most significantly caused by obesity. This essay will include some of the possible reasons for this issue followed by how it can be controlled effectively.

Public health is a very important aspect of a society for the personal, mental and physical development of an individual. Obesity is a major contributor that is affecting public health worldwide. This could be due to poor diet control along with a sedentary lifestyle being practiced in some countries. For example, including high amounts of carbohydrates and fats in daily meals by consuming increased amounts of fast food and precooked meals will cause significant weight gain leading to obesity. Additionally, remote jobs and the easy availability of resources have led to a sedentary lifestyle being practiced widely.

Obesity can cause some serious health problems including high blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease and joint pains leading to major morbidity. This needs to be addressed seriously to reduce the life-threatening effects caused by morbid weight gain. Most importantly, by consuming a balanced diet and including daily regular exercise can significantly resolve this problem. Secondly, worldwide awareness needs to be created amongst individuals regarding the serious health hazards associated with obesity. For example, individuals who are aware of the morbidities associated with obesity will take preventative measures and visit local health care providers to aid in weight loss.

To conclude, obesity, being a major contributor to multiple health problems and diseases needs to be addressed, and relevant preventative measures should be taken to maintain normal body weight amongst individuals.