Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Today, obesity poses a serious threat as a problem of global scale. This issue is caused by a series of factors ranging from poor diet to high levels of stress, but there are multiple possible ways to counter this problem.

A diet high in fat and sugar, accompanied by a sedentary lifestyle, is one of the most commonly mentioned reasons for development of excess weight. This is because the number of calories consumed by an individual is much greater than the amount that is utilized for energy production to fulfill daily demand for activities. The rest is stored by the human body in the form of body fat. Furthermore, stress and poor sleep schedule can contribute to this development too. Those factors can affect hormones and natural processes in the body, leading to obesity.

As well as decreasing one’s quality of life, being overweight also has a high chance of causing multiple health problems, such as issues with cardiovascular system, diabetes, and even cancer. Therefore, solving this problem is essential to maintain public health. The first and very important step is to raise awareness about the problem and its causes. This could be done via social advertisements or the problem can be discussed in schools to help people prevent the development of obesity and not face the following health risks. Aside from that, there must be available professional medical help for people who already experience the effects, so they can get advice on how to lose weight or recover from the consequences.

To conclude, obesity is a current problem that has to be fought via raised awareness and medical help, as the impact it has on people today cannot be ignored.