Obesity is now a major global epidemic.what can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Obesity has manifested itself into an issue of global concern in recent years. Its rise as an international phenomenon can be attributed to practices related to the modern lifestyle in an increasingly globalising world. Luckily, solutions can be sought on both the individual and collective levels.

Modernisation has taken its toll on societies feeding habits. With the unprecedented pace of modern life and the infiltration of western diet into traditional communities thanks to globalisation, people are increasingly opting for calorie-rich fast food options. To further compound the problem, because of urbanisation as well as the rising availability of online delivery services for almost all sorts of goods, a more sedentary lifestyle has prevailed, reducing people’s physical activities and leading to being overweight. What’s more unfortunate is the observation of obesity among the population of children. While the aforementioned reasons can still apply, another factor may come into play. Children are constantly bombarded with colourful ads featuring their favourite superhero characters eating unhealthy food rich in sugar and carbohydrates.

Obesity can be tackled by both individuals and state-led schemes. People should feel responsible for their own wellbeing by refraining from unhealthy food options and allocating time to simple sports such as walking or running. In addition, parents and guardians ought to include fruits and vegetables in an appealing way in their children’s diet. That said, governments should also develop practical solutions to obesity. While it might seem impractical to impose laws on food advertisements and junk food chains, authorities can take action with what’s under their control. For example, more walking and running tracks and cycling lanes can be developed in urban centres and made publicly open for city dwellers. Furthermore, national public health campaigns can be adopted to educate children on the benefits of healthy diet and sports.

To conclude, obesity is an ongoing and pervasive problem in the modern-day world. It has arisen as a result of lifestyles and eating habits shifting into unhealthier forms. The issue of obesity, however, can be practically addressed by both individual actions and national strategies.