On balance, advertising is more harmful than beneficial, To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has played a huge role in providing information about a product, service or place since the 19th century. However, many people believe that it is more harmful than beneficial. In my opinion, as a student, I neither agree nor criticize this point of view.

In real life, there have been many creative advertisements and slogans that attract customers’ attention to a product. Besides, advertising helps businesses differentiate their brands, improve trust with consumers, thereby increasing sales. For example, a study conducted in 2018 that tracked customer attention to an item from 1990 to 2017 found that more than 60% of people purchased goods thanks to attractive advertising.

Although advertising is an essential criterion for reaching customers. But sometimes, those product advertisements are false. They use technology to transform products into more unique ones to attract customers, but do not allow customers to truly feel the product and do not guarantee the quality of the product. Because of this, it has also somewhat affected the mood of customers, causing discomfort to many consumers and losing consumer trust. On top of that, many products that are not good for our health can be advertised, for example cigarettes, alcohol, or fast food. Many people are suffering from illnesses and diseases due to consumption of such products. This also awakens each person and requires each person to make a wise decision, carefully study product information, and see feedback from those who have bought it before choosing to buy any product. Become a smart consumer