One day off a week is enough. To what extent do you agree?

There are opposing views as to whether or not having only a day off per week is necessary. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea. I will explain my position that first, one day off is not enough time to relax and refresh our minds, and then by describing how having a single day off decreases work efficiency.

Firstly, focusing on the lack of time to relax, there is a lot of work we only do on weekends, such as household chores, visiting parents, grocery shopping and spending quality time with family. By having a large number of tasks to complete and being only able to do them on weekends, we therefore end up having little time for ourselves. For example, in the morning, the housework must be done, then a trip to the supermarket, followed by a quick afternoon visit to relations and finally attend church in the evening. Arriving home late at night with only a couple of hours to relax before going to bed, therefore, not having suitable time to properly refresh the mind.

Secondly, regarding the effects on work efficiency, people with such busy schedules don’t have time to relax and may lack energy to begin a new week. It is much harder to feel motivated without any positive energy to keep us focused with the work we are doing. So, as a result, this will likely decrease work efficiency.

In conclusion, after showing how a solitary day off on a weekly basis is an insufficient amount of time to relax properly while also potentially leading to a reduction in work productivity. I therefore am strongly in disagreement with the proposal of having a single day off weekly being an appropriate amount of downtime.