One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There are some opinions that enhancing health care can make individuals’s lives longer and extend their lifespan. While I acknowledge this perspective offers a number of drawbacks, I personally believe these disadvantages are eclipsed by the advantages.

On the one hand, the major concern of growing life expectancy is that it poses a heavy responsibility to the social security issues. In other words, the health care system of some countries, especially the developing ones, may be under increased pressure from an expanding number of elderly patients, who are the age group suffering more disease and health problems than other groups due to aging. While there is a large figure of nursing and doctors that need to be supplemented, new health institutions also need to be invested equally. Similarly, the social welfare system is also affected seriously because the economy has to pay too much for elderly services such as nursing home construction and pension payments, leaving less budget for other more prominent national problems. The number of pension fund users exceeding the figure of taxpayers will be an intense challenge for the authorities.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned temporary disadvantages, I firmly believe that increasing lifespan offers more positive aspects. The first merit is that since lifetime extends, people may have more opportunities to fulfill their goals and desires. As a result, having more time to pursue the dream and make it become the truth will make their lives happier. In addition, the senior citizens are the invaluable source of consultants to the country. The plentiful amount of experience that older people have collected over decades is a useful treasure that may help not only businesses but also the state avoid wrong moves, and even earn more value than the amount of funds these people consume. Meanwhile, for every extended family, the elderly are often asked for advice by younger members for serious issues, so that their descendants can rely on their lessons and save time making the same mistakes they experienced before.

In conclusion, from all the reasons mentioned above, although upgrading medical attendance service causes some negative aspects to some extent, it seems to me that its merits are more significant than its drawbacks.