Online courses have been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Students have mixed view on online courses. Whilst some acknowledges its importance as a great medium for opportunities, others however, think it is merely a substitution for offline teaching. This essay will discuss about the advantages and disadvantages of studying online courses.

On the one hand, the most compelling reason for studying online is its flexibility, resulting easy access from any places to any time. Students can join online classes according to their schdules and also have the opportunities to explore different contents at the same time, moreover, in some cases can save or put those tutorials to their watchlist to view it on later periods. For instance, during covid there were a blomming spread of online platfroms, from where students not only received their tutions, but also had availed themselves visiting those sites again to clear doubts. Another benefit of having classes through online is the use of technology while conducting a session. For example, when a teacher is explaining a critical subject, take for the cell studies in biology, they can easily use the more recent and higher resulation images of cells and also put on videos for further clarifications. Hence, the experience of the class will become more enjoying and realistic to the students.

On the other hand, there are possible drawbacks of online courses. Firstly, studing via online, students had to have a gadget such as laptop or computer to join the class. Besides, they will also require high speed internet services in order to access the lessons, making online study-option quite expensive for most of the students. Secondly, were the students to choose online studies, they would face more concerns in solving problems, compared to the face-to-face version, where they could ask the teacher strightaway if they encountered any issues. Addtionally, for online, every student may not have the same tech skills to deal with the gadgets and more importantly with the website or platform as a whole. As a result, their focus on studies might get disrupted.

To conclude, because of the advancements in modern educational systems, online course has marked its importance, ensuring classes with more flexibility and versatility in using modern technics, however disadvantages like bearing additional expenses, transparency and inadequate skills to operate this system, sometimes make it quite harder in teaching profession.