Online currencies have become common in recent years . Why is this? Is this positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is evident that online currencies are becoming more popular as the years go by due to the effects of technological developments on this field. In my view, this new concept is quite advantageous for a myriad of reasons.

Initially, as stated before, the primary reason for this shift is consistently improving technology. This is because technology provides people with convenient options and enables them to tackle their daily tasks and challenges more easily, and in this matter, online currencies allow individuals not to carry cash with them, which is quite appealing to numerous individuals. Therefore, people tend to convert their money into online currencies. In Turkey, for example, a significant number of stores and supermarkets accept payments only in credit or debit cards, which is quite practical for today’s fast-paced lifestyle according to many people.

However, besides the main reason, I firmly believe that this approach is pretty beneficial for society. First and foremost, the concept helps people to keep their money and other valuable items in a safe environment. In other words, while people’s money are kept under high security measures in banks or other establishments, these assets are likely to be stolen by a burglar or thief if the person prefers to keep them at home. For instance, across the world, it is a fact that a majority of elderly people always complain about the gold they keep under their carpets or pillows is gone after a visit of a person who they already know.

In conclusion, there is a growing tendency to purchase online currencies in society due to its convenience. Furthermore, in my opinion, this system is a positive development because it also prevents valuables from being stolen by criminals.