OPINION More and more people could now access information from computers and other electronic devices. Therefore, there is no need to use printed books, magazines, or newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The digital revolution has fundamentally altered how we consume media, leading some to claim that traditional paper-based materials fall short compared to the Internet. From my point of view, it is totally true that digital devices offer superior practical efficiency and are far more environmentally friendly than traditional media.

The major reason why printed media is not necessary is its inferiority in terms of speed and convenience. Moreover, in an era where every information gets updated every second, it is more efficient to use digital devices to access information instantly from every point in the world. In contrast, hard copies of information are frequently outdated by the time they published. For instance, a student has an opportunity to use digital gadgets to access thousands of information sources, eliminating the need for heavy books on a daily basis. This level of efficiency can replace the physical production of paper.

Another crucial factor is the environmental effect of producing paper publications. That means, paper-based media is responsible for deforestation due to overcut of trees in order to increase the amount of printed newspapers. Additionally, the transport service of paper materials across the globe often leads to massive carbon footprint which has negative impact for our environment. To illustrate, deforestation that is caused by production of paper pollutes the air and increases the harmful effects of climate change. As environmental concerns become more urgent, the shift away from paper is not just a preference but a necessity for a sustainable future.

In conclusion, I believe that printed media become unnecessary because portability and zero environmental effect of digital devices outweigh the traditional media. The transition to a fully digital usage of information is not only inevitable but also beneficial for the progress of a modern society.