Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment.

Organized tours to remote destinations and various communities have gained popularity recently. I believe this is a positive trend for the environment and people from local areas.

Firstly, they bring various benefits to the local economy. If tours are organized to visit a particular place, visitors will have to spend money on local services and goods. Therefore, certain groups of people can generate a stable income by catering to visitors. For example, in Ha Giang province, a remote area in Vietnam, local citizens have improved their living standards by providing travellers with goods and services such as homestays, hotels, motorbike rentals, souvenirs and food. Secondly, visitors from organized tours who become aware of the difficulties faced by the remote communities can volunteer to assist in addressing them. In fact, many countries in Africa receive help from former tourists to deal with water shortages or poor healthcare systems.

Furthermore, I believe it also benefits the local environment. This is because organised tours usually focus on ” eco-tourism”, where a small portion of entrance fees is collected by the authority to maintain the environment and attract more visitors. Without that money, the locals might lack resources to prevent illegal poaching and logging. Moreover, when local people understand that tourists come specifically to enjoy the beauty of the environment, they are more likely to value and protect it rather than destroy it for short-term goals.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the increasing popularity of organised tours is certainly a positive development for the locals and the environm