Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children's lives?

As time passes, children will get older, and their relationship with their parents changes. However, parents can be support systems and advisors for their grown-up sons and daughters.

Parents play important roles in their adult children’s lives, especially as their support system. Not only do parents witness their children grow, but they also have a strong emotional bond with them. As a result, the parents can use this bond to understand their children’s feelings while they share their struggles to give them the support they need. For example, young adults who have begun their careers likely face difficulties adapting to professional culture. To help their children, parents can motivate their children to be confident. Consequently, the children will believe in their parents’ words and become more optimistic due to their trust and bond.

Furthermore, parents are able to act as advisors for their grown-ups. As elderly people, they have been through challenges and know how to overcome them. Their experiences can be helpful to their adult sons or daughters when they have the same issues. For example, if sons are just having a child and have trouble figuring out how to be a father, they can discuss their problems with their parents. Therefore, since parents have more experience raising children, they can give meaningful parenting advice to their sons.

In conclusion, although their children have become adults, their role as their support system and advisor is crucial. This is due to the emotional bond and guidance the parents have that are needed by their sons and daughters.