Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

In the present days, overpopulation in the major cities causes problems for both the government and society. The reasons are the resettlement of people who live in the villages and countryside, and the size of the cities with an overpopulation who are mostly resettlements.

In the beginning, the reason for overpopulation in urban centers is due to the abundance of foreigners who settle in the city. In other words, migrants resettle for a better life and consequently, they increase the population in the city that is already populated enough.

Secondly, the sizes of megapolises and urban centers were mostly designed over decades ago, which means they initially had a planned number of citizens who will live there. For instance, megapolises such as London, which was the capital for no more than 5 million people, are challenged by overpopulation due to migration of people from other countries.

One way is developing the countryside and suburban territories around the city. Portland, Oregon is an example: though the city’s size is not as big as bigger megapolises, it has well developed countryside and suburbs, providing well being for citizens who live remote from the city. Another solution is increasing the requirements for entering the country and getting citizenship. Thereby, experiencing homelessness and lack of intelligence of population will reduce, keeping hardworking and motivation to learn more.

In conclusion, overpopulation in urbanized centers is caused by obedience of newcomers and the city’s compact nature. These problems can be solved by increasing the city’s size by building more suburbs around and raising the requirements to enter the city.