Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems. Write at least 250 words.

The increasing population in urban areas has a resulted in a large amount of challenges in cities around the world such as environmental pollution and traffic congestions. This essay will discuss how governments can tackle these issues by investing in transport infrastructure, while citizens can reduce pollution by caring about environment and use eco-friendly items.

One of the most significant problems suggested with rapid urbanisation is environmental pollution. Building more factories, expanding numbers of cars lead to poor air quality. For example, launch of harmful emissions to the air is more tent to appear in many cities where population is in high level. Another major issue is traffic congestion. Thus, to commute from one place to another will became more harder especially at peak hours. Moreover, to be on time people may face with stress and probably feel that they lose their valuable time. To illustrate, in the Kazakhstan city of Almaty heavy traffic require roughly 2 hours of road to arrive at time in place where located in 10-15 kilometres.

Several measures can be taken be both government and individuals to tackle these problems. First, governments should invest in public transport and expand road networks to reduce traffic jams. In addition, they should introduce stricter environmental regulations to reduce harmful emissions. For example, in France governments had law about rubish, that even small piece of paper can not be lay on ground. People there are more tent to care about every waste and help country to stay cleaner. Furthermore, individuals should use public transport instead of private cars. They can also recycle waste and choose environmentally friendly products to help reduce pollution. For instance, in that case people can use more cycle or walk and open more second-hand clothes.

To conclude, overpopulation can face with many problems such as pollution and traffic congestions. However, these measures would improve air quality and make cities more sustainable places to live.