Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems. Write at least 250 words.

These days, overpopulation of urban areas became a major cause of many social issues, including an increase of traffic on the roads. To address this problem government should allocate more funds to public transportation, while citizens can take a responsibility to use them in daily basis.

One of the primary issues occurred by a rapid population growth is a heavier traffic on the roads. When almost every family have one or even more private cars, traffic flow became busier and overcrowded, making it challenging to reach certain places in time. As a result, more and more individuals will late for important occasions and suffer from time managing ability. A prime example of this can be observed in Mumbai and Deli, where most of the population need to leave their home for few hours later due to huge traffic congestion.

Nevertheless, this problem can be alleviated, if government will provide more investment to the public transport. Usually, vast of the population try to avoid the usage of mass transit, because of their inconvenience and contamination. However, by supplying well-equipped public transportation system, with all necessary functions the popularity of mass transport may increase. For instance, government of Japan have already invested to the public railway network, illustrating its usability and convenience for local dwellers.

In addition, the contribution of citizens also plays a crucial role to tackle traffic congestion. They can support the effort of government developments added to public transport, and start to use them constantly. For example, residents of the Netherlands prefer using bikes and public transportation instead of private vehicles. As a result, such activities can not only prevent the city from huge traffic flows and environmental problems, it is also may encourage local residents to stay healthy.

In conclusion, the overpopulation of urban areas leads to several issues, like traffic congestion. To solve it, authorities should boost investment in urban transport services, meanwhile local citizens can replace car trips by a usage of public transportation.