Wealth and material belongings often measure the success that a person has. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successful person?

Success should not solely be measured by material belongings and wealth. Material wealth alone does not make a person truly successful. I believe that success can be measured by a person’s knowledge, values and happiness.

It is often said that “Knowledge is the greatest treasure”. Unlike material wealth, knowledge is a permanent asset that continues to create opportunities throughout a person’s life. While wealth and material belongings are the most uncertain things in life. Through knowledge comes great understanding and values which make a person successful. For instance, even wealthy people seek advice from knowledgable individuals when faced with important decisions in life.

One of the ways of measuring a person’s success is happiness. Irrespective of the material possessions or wealth a person might have, if they are not happy within, it would not matter at a certain point in life. People often make a mistake that earning ample amount of wealth would bring them prosperity. Hence, individuals think of chasing wealth. Children are a perfect example of this. When we grow old, we often say that “Life was better when we were kids”, not because of wealth but of the happiness we had irrespective of anything else.

In conclusion, if we want to measure a person’s true success then it should be based on their knowledge, values and happiness rather than their material belongings and wealth.