Parents have a responsibility to help children with their homework, but others believe children should do it on their own. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, grading students with the use of home assignments has become an inseparable part of a conventional educational system. Many debates have emerged regarding the parents’ responsibility of assisting their children with their academic home tasks. Some people hold the notion that parents possess a huge role when it comes to aiding their child’s assignments, whereas others oppose this belief with the idea that students need to be able to complete their assignment on their own. This essay discusses both views and gives the writer’s opinion at the end.

The people who believe that children ought to utilize their individual academic insights while completing schoolwork argue that this method of studying enhances one’s ability to research more accurately and efficiently. In the digital world, nowadays, new innovative technologies resulted in effortless access to information for every human worldwide. It means that with the presence of the internet and a device, any student can search for the information associated with their homework. This, in turn, not only helps them complete their homework more precisely and revise to fill up any loopholes in their comprehension of the topics, but also improves their researching capability which is a crucial soft skill that benefits them for a lifetime. For instance, a student tasked with a project on environmental science can look up online for educational videos, articles, e-books, databases using reliable websites or Artificial Intelligence to gather information and formulate their findings for a definitive conclusion.

Conversely, some believe that parents should guide their children with school assignments because their experience can significantly benefit the kids’ studies. Many parents had finished their lower education, so they are aware of the challenges that one may face while studying, and they may also give some tips to boost their children’s academic performance more effectively. Parents also possess strong emotional intelligence which aids them to identify student’s weaknesses and tackle their personal problems that may make them uneasy while doing schoolwork. For example, a parent might share their own methods for organizing study schedules or difficult concepts, thereby creating an environment that is productive for learning.

In conclusion, some people hold the view that parents possess responsibility to some extent when it comes to providing assistance on their children’s tasks given by school subjects, while others contradict this opinion with the belief that students should work on their assignments on their own. While it may be beneficial for students to complete their homework autonomously as it is likely to develop some individual life-long skills, I still believe that parents are accountable to lend a helping hand to their children in their studies because of parents’ useful academic experience.