Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents who have corpulent minors should be responsible for making them gain weight. This essay disagrees with this statement because obesity can be caused by heredity and children often eat unhealthy food outside.

One of the main causes that determine a child’s weight gain is genetic. Some people have different biological characteristics, which can make it difficult to keep fit and metabolism. In this case, parents should become companions with their children during their weight loss phase. However, they should not be considered the cause of their child’s obesity but rather genetic factors. A recent study found that almost 50% of juveniles in the United State who suffer from obesity have the tendency to carry extra body fat.

Another major factor that could contribute to being obese is that students often meet up with their classmates after classes to have fast food, which is saturated with high amounts of salt, sugar, and fat. As a result, this can lead to countless adult diseases such as: high blood pressure, diabetes,… For example, recent research concluded that about 50% of obese students exceed the recommended daily calorie intake by snacking after class.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents should not be judged for their children being fat. It seems that the main cause of this problem is the eating habits of boys and girls after school. Therefore, punishing them is unreasonable and not the right way to approach the issue of obesity.