People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

Nowadays, because of massive developments in the food industries, it has led to the alteration of people’s diets, especially in sugar-based food and drinks. Whereas in the past, people preferred to consume natural food which contains less sugar. Therefore, this essay will discuss the reasons for these changes and propose several solutions to overcome the overconsumption of sugary products.

There are several reasons why people in this modern era tend to consume high-sugar products. First and foremost, massive advertisements of sugary products have caused people to consume these products in high amounts which often are sold at cheaper prices than healthy food. Several big companies, such as Coca-Cola, have advertisements in plenty of mass media, such as Instagram, newspapers, and even at sports competitions. Moreover, these products are often promoted by famous people to increase people’s attention towards the products and offer interesting discounts. As a result, many people will purchase these sugary drinks which exacerbate their health condition, leading to diabetes or heart disease.

Therefore, several means should be taken to minimise the overconsumption of sugary products. Firstly, the government should impose a strict regulation on sugary product advertisements. It can be done by imposing high tax regulations on sugary products and restricting its advertisements in public facilities. Consequently, high-sugar products will be sold at expensive prices and many people will alter their food preferences. Another solution to that problem is through massive campaigns to consume natural food, such as fruits and vegetables. This way can be done in schools and public facilities which teach people that consuming natural food can improve people’s health and prevent chronic disease. Moreover, rewards or discounts within this promotion also could draw people’s attention and they will no longer buy high-sugar products.

In conclusion, advertisements and massive promotion of sugary food and drinks are two main reasons for an increase in sugar consumption among individuals. However, restricting these advertisements and altering them to campaign natural food are two potential ways to minimise people’s dependency on sugary products.