People are living longer than ever before. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done to deal with this situation?

It is true that individuals are living longer than in the past. While there are two driving factors leading to the trend, it can confidently be regarded as an unfavorable development.

To commence with the problems,there are a couple of them. Firstly, longer life expectancy can lead to a heavier financial burden. Governments and families spent time on more healthcare, and also spent money on medical resources which were significant for their health. Moreover, most individuals are not able to do these due to job requirements, and living longer does not always mean living healthier. Elderly people suffer from various chronic illnesses and diseases. Secondly, the rising population can create social and economic challenges. With more elderly citizens, the average working age rises, the reason of this reducing job opportunities for younger generations.

Turning to solutions to these problems, first and foremost, governments could promote healthy lifestyles and increase pension payments for elderly citizens. This would help elderly citizens do physical activities regularly. As a result, they would stay healthy and would not need to spend much money on medical treatments. Moreover, increasing pension payments for elderly citizens would help reduce the financial burden on medical resources which they can buy medical resources for various diseases for their own budget. Furthermore, governments should invest in education and vocational training for the younger generation. Supporting vocational training and innovation would also help create new job opportunities and keep the economy balanced.

In conclusion, while advances in medical science and improved healthcare facilities are driving this trend, I deem it disadvantageous.