People are living longer than ever before. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done to deal with this situation?

In some countries, an increasing number of people are living longer than ever before. Potential overpopulation can significantly exacerbate issues related to additional pressure on the economy. Although this is a pressing problem, a range of fundamental measures could stabilize the demographic situation and mitigate its effects.

One of the primary consequences of increased life expectancy is the aging of the workforce. As the proportion of elderly people grows, there are fewer young professionals to drive the economy. Rarely can a shrinking workforce sustain the same level of economic growth as a younger population. This leads to a labour shortage and puts heavy pressure on the healthcare and pension systems. For example, in developed countries like Japan, the government has to allocate a vast amount of taxpayers’ money to provide medical care and social security for seniors, which can lead to economic stagnation. In conclusion, an aging population poses serious socio-economic threats to the state.

To address this issue, measures should be multifaceted. Firstly, the government can mitigate the issue of the aging population through the increase of retirement age. Should employees’ life expectancy increase, workers will be able to operate even when they are elderly. This can not only reduce the financial burden along with the lack of labour, but also contribute to sustainable economic growth. Secondly, by investing financial resources in automation and AI technologies, the state can replace traditional elderly workers with robot systems, maintaining the efficiency of industries, despite an aging population. Therefore, integration of technological innovations along with the implementation of labour reforms can mitigate the negative effects of a decreasing workforce.

To conclude, living significantly longer can aggravate the concern of labour shortage, posing a serious economic threat to countries. However, a combination of reshaping policies and developing technological progress can tackle this problem.