People are living longer than ever before. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done to deal with this situation?

It is widely observed that in some countries the average life expectancy have increased. Although this tendency might lead to decreased workforce and place several infrastructural burdens on society, I firmly believe that it can be addressed through certain secio-economic policies.

The rise in the number of elderly people may detrementally affect economic conditions of the society. Were the number of older people not to increase, the overall workforce would remain stable, as ageing population might be not suitable for particular physically demanding professions. This is evident in young age of retirement among firefighters, police officers and emergency services due to hazardous conditions of these jobs. Moreover, such a tendency suppresses infrastructure, thereby increasing the workload for remaining employees. Consequently, this trend not only reduces the number of working employees, but also constrains the infrastructure.

To tackle this issue, governments may implement several economic policies. By enhancing working conditions and widening the range of career prospects, authorities might attract young employees from all over the world. This, in turn, may contribute to demographic stability, fostering both economic rise and social sutainability. For instance, increased salaries or opportunities for modern jobs such as digital security or software development may appeal young programmers worldwide. In addition, policies aiming to increase the birth rate might develop demographic stability. It is social policies that may increase the proportion of children in society. Such implementions as tax reductions for parents and subsidised childcare might foster increase in birth rate, alleviating the consequences of elderly people’s rise. Therefore, policies regarding career development and birth rate might contribute to demographic sustainability, mitigating the aftermath of this issue.

In conclusion, although an increasing number of old people places an extensive burden on social infrastructure, this might be addressed through several socio-economic policies. By appealing young professionals and enhancing childcare conditions for families, authorities can significantly alleviate this issue.