People are living longer than ever before. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done to deal with this situation?

It is widely acknowledged that the trend of living longer has become a subject of significant debate in contemporary society. While this trend is considered a positive development, some individuals remain unconvinced by this idea. I firmly reckon that it is likely to be a positive development, as this may be the indication of people living in better conditions than ever before.

The primary reason why I believe it is a positive development is that nowadays, governments tend to take some actions to increase the satisfaction of their population to some extent. Put simply, it is observed in many countries that the governments demonstrate a tendency to increase employees salaries as well as retriement pays. In turn, this tendency allows people, especially those who have poorer backgrounds and suffer from some health issues, to take care of themselves in various aspects. What is more, the trend of living longer than before may stem from people having lower stress problems compared to the past, especially those who had problems with finding a proper job, as the governments are observed to create new job opportunities.

Though it is a positive development in my opinion, this trend can bring about negative outcomes as well. One of the major drawbacks is believed to be there being several arguments between elderly individuals of the population in the world. This problem is because, as is observed, most of the elderly people are not capable of understanding a person they are talking with. As a result, this may lead to some misunderstandings between the people. The reason why this is a disadvantage is that these problems are likely to be displayed on various TV programs, which may have a negative impact on the country to some extent.

Consequently, though it can be considered a positive development, as it indicates that the governments are capable of supplying their elderly individuals, there existing too many elderly people may exert a negative influence on the government, as the arguments outlined above.