People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives.Do you think the positive effects of this overweight the negative effects?

These days, the extensive reach of advertising is hardly escapable, to the point that people may find themselves surrounded by commercial promotions every waking moment. This situation does produce certain positive effects, but from my point of view, they would be overshadowed by undesirable impacts.

The productive points are largely related to business and commerce. The pervasiveness of commercials makes delivering personalized advertisements to potential customers possible, hence expediting their shopping experience. When a person texts their friends about planning a picnic, they might later see their social media feed filled with offers for camping supplies. The campers would, therefore, have an easier time obtaining items needed for their trip. Moreover, the ubiquity of advertisements even informs people of products that they have yet to realize are necessary. While many office workers complain about spine and neck problems from the sedentary lifestyle, some do find a relief for their predicament, after coming across ads about ergonomic chairs or neck pillows, and buying these products. In a way, this is a more significant advantage than the first, for it allows businesses to tap into new customer bases.

However, the fact that advertising is allowed to become widespread does not happen without disadvantages to people’s lives. Informational overload from oversaturation of commercial promotions is a rather understandable result, one which opens the door to negative impacts. When a person browses the Internet for research, the appearance of advertisements could potentially disrupt their flow, or worse, distract them from the information they originally need. Students would be able to attest to this, for many a studying session has been derailed by midway seeing ads and wanting to make purchases. This, in my opinion, hampers productivity greatly, and offsets the possible benefits offered by the ubiquity of advertisements.

The current situation where advertising is pervasive in people’s lives, while not necessarily having as many drawbacks as it does advantages, is hardly desirable, seeing how the benefits are significantly outweighed by the negative impacts. If such a circumstance cannot be effectively alleviated, it would be necessary to come up with measures to lessen the detrimental effects.