People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, due to the development of technology, the utilisation of language translating applications via the Internet is becoming prevalent. While this phenomenon can possess certain drawbacks, the positive effects of can outweigh the shortcomings.

The foremost disadvantage is the potential of inaccuracy. Since translation apps are just programmed to translate fixed meanings while lexical resources in every language are so diverse with varied implications according to contexts. Although these errors rarely happen, they can lead to misunderstanding in communication, thereby possibly exerting adverse effects on working outcomes. For example, if English learners use Google translate tools to interpret idioms, it can give them the wrong meaning of the phrase and they can use them in inappropriate situations.

However, despite the shortcomings mentioned above of using online translation machines, I take the view that they pale in comparison with any merits this trend may entail. The main advantage of this development is their convenience. These things allow users to translate the word from their mother tongue to another language quickly, helping them to connect and talk with foreigners more easily. For example, a person just needs a few clicks to access Google Translate and change a particular English text into Vietnamese, compared with hours spent on looking up words in paper dictionaries. In addition, many translation apps are cost-effective, with some being free or very affordable for everyone to use. One prime example of this is that most Vietnamese people who learn English use an app called “TFlat dictionary”. This is because whether learners are rich or not, they can adapt to the price of upgrading the features of the app, which can help them have a better translation machine than the free version.

In conclusion, although online interpretation applications can have an inevitable downside of the inaccuracy, the advantages of convenience and saving money for users can overshadow the negative influence.