People decide to have their first child when they are older?Do you think advantahes outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, a delayed childbearing has become increasingly common among a substantial number of parents. While the pursuit of career goals and establishment of a solid financial footing are two primary reasons driving this trend, I am firmly of the opinion that potential negative consequences outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, parents mainly prioritize being financially secure initially before having a child, as it is one of the crucial elements which determines the quality of healthcare and education their child receives in the future. In today’s era where people give precedence to social and financial status of individuals, it is wise to have sufficient financial resources, thereby providing their children with superior quality of life and greater opportunities. As a result, all these efforts prevent children from potential feeling of alienation or dissatisfaction. Furthermore, some parents give priority to waiting until they are emotionally mature enough. In some cases, it seems more prudent approach rather than having a child early on, as being mentally mature ensures that offspring being raised in a stable domestic environment.

Despite the above-mentioned points, I still believe postponing parenthood carries certain drawbacks which cannot be neglected. Heightened generation gap is the primary one. It is believed that some of the personal conflicts and disagreements emerge between parents and children because of the huge age gap. With age comes more life experiences and challenges which potentially make parents the way more strict in terms of upbringing. For instance, not giving adequate freedom or allowance to things they ask for, resulting in formation of negative impressions or stress. Another drawback has to do with reduced energy levels. Undoubtedly, kids tend to be more active and restless at their early years and welcoming a child at one’s 30’s or 40’s challenges ‘old’ parents both physically and mentally, as they get older they could not be able to take care of their child as well as they did.

To conclude, while financial security gains more attention by parents, as it ensures a child with a good quality of life, having long-term disagreements because of wide age gap and not being in close contact because of parent’s reduced energy levels lead to emergence of psychological disorders which creates a sense of alienation.