People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People eating habits have changed a lot in this contemporary era replacing homemade cook. Owing to the fact that instant food items are available and easy to be served, but cause several health problems.

Recently, people incline to consume more readymade food, as it can be picked up a consumed easily as compared to the past. Few years ago, when people preferred cooking fresh food, they had to invest amount of time and ingredients just to serve a meal. However, due to people workload and the advanced of technology, the eating lifestyle has rapidly changed. Presently, most of the people are developing a strong interest for snack and simple food, which requires less or not time for preparation. This implies, food must be available at any time, whenever you feel hungry. In consequence, current eating habits has shifted people routines to consume more instant food than processed one. For instance, children tend to snack on the food instead of waiting for their parents cook and serve them. Another example is the adults have to work earlier and most of them have to serve breakfast for themselves or family. Therefore, they would choose simple readymade food to cut into their time.

Nevertheless, this eating habit trend may cause detrimental health issue. Processed food contains low nutrient and high chemical contains of preservatives, which are helpful in storing the food for such a long time. Consuming preservatives for a long period can be harmful to the digestive system, causing stomach cancer, gastritis, liver issue, etc. For instance, processed meat, stored in the can, are preserved by adding salt and acid when consume over a period of time can affect stomach and put higher risk of cancer.

In short, people consume instant food for its simple and availability, yet it leads to critical health problem affecting a large population in total.