People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

Over the past few decades, people have spent less and less time with their family members. This essay will discuss why this has occurred and examine the consequences of this trend.

There are several factors behind this tendency. One of the leading causes is that residents, mostly the young generation, focus on their careers and personal lives rather than spend most of their time at home. Especially when they are young and desire to earn as much as possible – so that they can look after members of their immediate and extended families more comfortably and, as a result, stay with them longer. For example, many young Vietnamese from 20 to 30 years old choose to work overtime during the Lunar New Year, even though it is a national holiday, and everyone celebrates this meaningful moment and organizes parties with their families. Additionally, in most cases, citizens do not have other choices besides building their careers and thinking about work and success 24/7. Or else they cannot even have a chance to make their lives and the lives of their family members better and happier.

This situation may lead to other unexpected outcomes. Firstly, due to the constant development of technology, it becomes a lot easier and more comfortable for us to work, which means we may focus more on our jobs and forget about other things surrounding us. Consequently, the family bonding weakens. Secondly, because of the ignorance of one family member, others may not get enough emotional and physical support. At last, if no one can give you a guide or help you at work or studying, it can discourage you from developing and changing your life for the better side.

To sum up, we have some reasons which significantly affect the relationship between family members. It is undeniably a worrying problem that can greatly impact us and the entire society.