People judge women on their appearance and men on their achievements. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In life, each person is evaluated in different aspects. Some people say that women are judged by how they look and men by what they achieve. I believe they should not judge women solely or primarily on their appearance and men on their achievements.

When women are held to standards based on whether they are beautiful or not, they will often forget where their true value lies. This issue creates pressure to follow beauty standards but not all women have that. Another reason is that people often forget other important qualities such as intelligence, skills, creativity, compassion and achievement. This can prevent individuals from being recognised and appreciated for their true abilities and contributions.

In addition, judging men primarily based on their achievements is also a no. Excessive expectations for men can lead to pressure and stress, affecting their mental and physical health. Moreover, it can also perpetuate unhealthy competition. For example in the workplace, when men are expected to do much, some will find any way to achieve it, including breaking the law. Not everyone has equal access to opportunities, so there is no one-size-fits-all model for success. Similar to the way appearance-based judgments, focusing solely on achievement can ignore other aspects such as their morality, how they live and personal growth.

In conclusion, instead of seeing a person’s value based only on their appearance and achievements, in my personal opinion is that each individual should pay attention to their other aspects as well. This includes considering their knowledge, basic skills, contributions to the community, and how they treat others.