People living in the 21st century have a better life quality than people who lived in previous times. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that people in the 21st century are leading a happier lifestyle than people living in the past. While there were no significant global issues in the previous centuries, I completely agree with the notion that people at present have a better quality of life thanks to a combination of technological revolution, breakthroughs in the medical field, and a better work-life balance.

It is true that people are fighting against many environmental disasters these days. With increased production and rapid industrialization, many factories release hazardous gases and pollute the environment. As a consequence, global concerns like air pollution and global warming are leading to catastrophic results for the environment, worsening the quality of life today. This is because aforementioned threats may cause several health issues that shorten the average life expectancy of the world population. Thus, even though the modern world is full of conveniences, it might also present some problematic challenges.

One reason why people today are living both a happier and healthier lifestyle is the advancements in the medical field. For example, a person who lived in the 19th century might have died from some minor diseases, such as smallpox, polio or measles, as doctors at that time lacked the necessary equipment and knowledge. However, contemporary medicine states that these conditions can easily be treated by medical practitioners since technological equipment and AI can diagnose more effectively and faster.

Another factor of a high standard of life in current times is the technological revolution. In the past, a majority of work has been done manually, which required more time and effort. For instance, the initial cars in history were manufactured by tens of workers in a substantial amount of time. But now, one engineer can operate hundreds of manufacturing tools simultaneously, paving the way for factory workers to avoid a heavy workload. These types of developments in technology, in turn, not only equip humanity with a balanced lifestyle but also significantly increase overall satisfaction with their lives.

In conclusion, people in the past did not have to think about environmental disasters like global warming or air pollution in the world, which was devoid of human-induced issues. However, we contemporaries are still living in a technologically and medically developed world without the fear of some deadly diseases or harsh working conditions. Therefore, I totally agree with the given statement that people in the 21st century are leading a higher quality lifestyle than our ancestors in previous times.