People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, under the influence of technology, several users desire to interact online rather than in direct meetings. This tendency originates from diverse reasons and some profound impacts have sparked intensive debate.

On the one hand, adults have to balance various things to do in one day such as working in the company for around 8 hours per day or hanging out with their family due to people has lack of time to talk face-to-face and shopping. Therefore, not only youth who choose to interact online is becoming more popular with middle-ages. Moreover, the great distances are also difficult obstacles to meeting leading to most of them using chat and call online with friends. Both convenience and saving money. For example, in a survey in China, 75% of Chinese people use social media regularly to keep relationships including friends or parents, who stay too far away.

On the other hand, connecting online might have negative impacts when users over dependent on technological tools. Social skills and interaction can diminish after a long time ago they will narrow down and avoid social activities. For instance, according to a study from the American Psychiatric Association social media users have poorer communication skills and engage less in meaningful conversations. Additionally, a study Royal Society for Public Health that over 70% of youth feel lonely although active on social networks.

In conclusion, many people consider digital devices as a significant convenient method for shopping or maintaining relationships, together with having a number of long-term negative impacts in the future.