People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleepless? What effect does it have on individuals and societies?

Sleep is the basic but essential activity that re-energies us. However, Nowadays, to cope up with the fast paced world, people are sleeping less. Hence, it may affect them in numerous ways. Both reason and effects are elaborated in below paragraphs.

To cope up with the fast paced world, these days people are sleeping less in this modern era compared to individuals of the last some decades. There are many factors behind this. Major one is competition, people compare themselves with others in their respective field and want to become or earn like them and this peer pressure lands them into unwanted pressure. Social media plays another significant role in reducing individuals’ sleep time, they get influenced by holidays posts of their friends and relatives and to do the same they tend to work more and hence less sleep time. Job security is another factor that leads employees to work more even after their usual hours or in unusual shifts . For instance, a survey reported that on an average software engineers in service based IT companies are working around 10 hours a day and 40 percent of them are on night shift, which results in less or off-hours sleep.

There are many effects linked with less sleep time. One major cause among them is tiredness. Many studies in famous universities have reported the major reason behind fatigue is less sleep time. Moreover, fatigue may lead to physical and psychological related issues in the long run, less energy at work and more stress often compared with less sound sleep. On top of that, people often catch many health diseases as well, To exemplify that, the World health organisation has stated that people who sleep less may get insomnia and autoimmune diseases .

To conclude with, nowadays people are sleeping less to deal with the current environment and to acquire luxury due to peer pressure and for society status symbols and this further leads to fatigue and tiredness and fatigue in results can give many health related problems in longer run.