People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the average working hours are longer than ever before. I am supportive of the argument that this trend has a severe impact not only on the workers themselves but also on their families and the community as a whole. Therefore, I strongly agree with the idea of limiting the working hours.

There are some persuasive rationales that support the claim that the government should put a limit on the time people work per day. A few decades ago, people normally worked around eight hours on a daily basis. This figure has increased to ten or even fourteen nowadays. This, in my opinion, adversely affects employees’ health and productivity. If workers spend more hours at work, they are more likely to suffer from various health issues, ranging from insomnia to serious diseases such as anxiety disorder or even stroke. Additionally, failing health leads to more sick leave, poor work performance, and even low productivity. My cousin, for instance, works nearly seventy hours per week, he frequently feels exhausted and makes more errors at work than he used to.

I also believe that extended hours of work detrimentally affect family bonds and society. If people have to work with a busy schedule, this might prevent them from taking frequent family trips. Consequently, the relationships among members are greatly weakened. Furthermore, overworked people do not devote time to voluntary activities that bring more benefits for society. My brother is a case of this. He hardly takes part in any community projects as a result of working more than eight hours each day.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I would argue that average daily working needs to be reduced as this can lead to numerous consequences for employees, their families, and the society.