People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people are inclined to work longer hours in today’s society. This phenomenon not only has a detrimental impact on the individual but also families and community. Therefore, I totally agree with the statement above that working much hours should be limited.

In my opinion, workers working with a large amount of hours has a detrimental effect on the health of employees. In the past, workers worked just 8 hours per day but recent statistics indicate that worktime have increased 10-14 hours a day. They may suffer from a wide range of health issues ranging from tiredness, fatigue to anxiety disorder even stroke and so on. This may lead to as more day-off and their working low productivity. As an example, my cousin who works 12 hours a day, he feel overload and exhausted this cause he makes more errors. Furthermore, in countries like Japan or South Korean where employees spend most time for work and they working 40 hours a week, high mortality rates annual caused by work-related stress.

On the other hand, working a large amount of times have a harmful impact on family bond and society. Employees spend most their time for work around 10-14 hours per day, then they do not have enough time to take a vacation with family or shared meals so this easy to weaken bonds between family members and relationships. Moreover, they spend all time in workplace so they lack of time for take part in volunteer activity. As can we see, working long hours has limited the opportunity to explore intersted things outside. For instance, my uncle work extra office times, he also do not have time to joining community service project due to working 60 hours a week.

In conclusion, the tend of working long hours can risks to individual health, families and society. Therefore I strongly believe that regulations workplaces should be limit working hours for employees especially work overtime. This promote a healthier work-life balance.v