People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common tendency that people spend almost time per day to work, this will cause adverse consequences for not only themselves but also for their relatives and society. Therefore, I side with the suggestion that working time should be limited.

On the one hand, I suppose that if individuals continue to work extra hours, they will suffer from negative effects on their health. In the past, the allowable time in the workplace was 8 hours per day, meanwhile many people dedicate 12-14 hours for their job nowadays, this action is the reason why people, especially youngers tend to contract serious diseases related to eyes or spinal column or mental problems. As a result, they can not adapt to the amount of workloads due to their strength, which causes a decrease in company productivity. Take employees in Shein, a well-known shopping app, become exhausted because of working 14 hours just to meet the demand of customers for clothes.

On the other hand, when people concentrate too much on their working time, they don’t have space to take care their parents or playing with their offsprings or just having meal with them, as a consequence, the family bonds are likely become weakened, this is one of the reason why people tend to be introvert and neglectful with their relatives. In addition, once people spend half of a day in the workplace, they also can’t take part in volunteer activities in the community, hence, the lack of building relationships with others is an evident result.Besides, this tendency will lead to make fewer employment opportunities in graduates due to the excessive time of employees in company.

In conclusion, dedicating unnecessarily high hours for working can bring more money or valuable rewards to people, but leading to extended issues that they can not handle opportunely, so I agree to control working hours to create more positive effects to workers and others, also.