People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely viewed that individuals belonging to elder generation groups tend to find happiness more than those from younger generation. Personally, I am in complete disagreement with this statement for tow primary reasons: certain despicable moments of the past older people experienced, and the importance of governments in maintaining the well-being of citizens.

To start with, the hardships which had profound influence on the lives of previous generations, especially baby boomers, should be taken into consideration. This is because these people suffered greatly form the negative repercussions of Post-WWII period. The vast majority of war survivors were constrained to fully enjoy their lives for certain reasons, such as, post-war traumatic disorders and impoverished living conditions due to huge deficit driven by the immense spending on purchasing weapons.

In addition to this, it is also my contention that blissful living is partly linked to the government of a nation. If citizens are guided by a fully functioning government, lives of people will undoubtedly be enriched, leading to public contentment and allowing individuals to live peacefully. More explicit evidence can be seen when comparing lives of Myanmar citizens who are tackling with various social issues under the military regime, and those of British citizens who are leading far less problematic lives in their developed nation.

In conclusion, despite generalized suggestions on the level of happiness between different generations, more realistic approaches should be taken to observe this assumption. After all, one’s happiness can be manipulated by social forces and other circumstances as one lives in a society.