Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

It is undoubtedly true that many schools in many countries have faced the crucial problem of plagiarism. Although there are several factors, there are also possible solutions.

About the causations of plagiarism, the first thing that could be of concern is a lack of confidence. This often affects many students who have not generally prepared well or who have prepared well but unfortunately miss the point of reflective studying. In these cases, students may feel impatience and anxiety, which could trigger a lack of confidence. The second concern is family background. Some students, who were born into high-educational families such as those of doctors, lawyers, or politicians, may feel strong pressure. For instance, parents may be disappointed if scores do not meet their level of satisfaction. Moreover, these students are also relatively under pressure from peers who easily assume that they will achieve high scores because they always do. Thus, the majority of factors are a lack of confidence and pressure from third parties.

However, there are several positive solutions. One approach is a mental one, which involves self-control techniques. For example, students can analyse themselves, find out when they become nervous, and understand what actions will make them comfortable during tight situations. Consulting a counselor is also a good option.

Another approach is a physical one, increasing the number of examiners/invigilators and installing CCTV during exams.

In conclusion, the causations and solutions are varied. However, I believe the above measures will help to deter plagiarism.