Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of rising globalization, a significant number of individuals contend that plastic bags are the foremost reason that increases pollution in water and land; therefore, there should be some restrictions on plastic use. In my perspective, I ardently support this assertion, and I will elucidate my position in the ensuing paragraphs, culminating in a well-founded conclusion.

To substantiate my alignment with the aforementioned notion, I firmly hold the belief that plastic bags used in shops and supermarkets have a negative effect on the environment because they do not degrade in soil easily. To exemplify, one university study conducted an experiment: they buried a plastic bag in soil and found that it took 20 years to decompose. Furthermore, some people simply use and throw away plastic bags; the wind carries them to various places, and street dogs or other animals searching for food eat them, and as a result, the plastic does not digest.

Expanding upon some other corroborating factors supporting my agreement with the statement, it is irrefutable that the banning of plastic bags is worse than the original problem. Most people suggest paper bags or those made of cotton and paper. Despite this, the government should also plan to apply stricter rules to sellers and buyers of plastic bags.

In conclusion, the use of plastic bags is very harmful to the environment and to humans; however, a solution should be possible with everyone’s effort or through strict government rules. I am convinced that the aforementioned arguments strongly bolster my perspective. The multifaceted nature of banning plastic requires careful consideration, and after weighing the evidence, it becomes apparent that prohibiting plastic or plastic-made products is the most logical stance to adopt in the context of our ever-changing world.