Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is becoming common for people to use plastic shopping bags. However, this trend can cause many environmental problems in many ways. It can also cause serious medical problems for humans and animals. In fact, I firmly agree that banning plastic shopping bags will overcome this environmental problem.

The main reason is nylon bags can be harmful to sea animals. In this modern era, many people throw their waste into rivers. However, this waste will end up in the sea. Sea creatures can consume this waste, especially nylon bags. It will be harmful for them as they cannot digest plastics. For instance, many whales died because of consuming plastic shopping bags. As a result, the number of sea animals will decrease gradually. However, this negative trend will also lead to the extinction of some sea creatures.

The following reason is plastic cannot be degreded. It will end up as litter in town and suburban areas. Moreover, the more people go shopping, the more litter in their place. Nevertheless, some people will choose to burn it as it can not degraded. By burning plastics, citizens can cause more pollution in the air. Citizens can get chronic medical problems such as pneumonia, tuberculosis, and bronchitis. For illustration, many students have lung problems because their neighbours usually burn their plastic bags. Consequently, life expectancy will increase.

To sum up, not only will nylon plastic be harmful to sea creatures, but it also cause medical problems for society. Having considered the drawbacks, I strongly believe that banning plastic shopping bags is a wise decision.