Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Polythene covers are non-decomposable chemical product, widely used for shopping. Due to its detrimental effect on our environment such as biomagnification and land pollution. People rises a condemnation, to pose a ban on the usage of plastic bags . This essay asserts to the idea of abolishing plastic covers.

The bags that are made of plastic are non-decomposable in nature. It would take a very long time to break down into smaller particles, though it will not lose it characteristics. This will cause biomagnification in our ecosystem. For example, small fishes feed on micro-organisms, there is a high chance for them to consume these small plastic particles, suspended in th waters. This chain continues, then a big fish eats the small fish. Then, human consumes the big fish. This is how the plastic, chemical substance, is transfered into our food chain. Accumulation of these chemicals would cause a poisonous effect cauing a major impact on human health. Moreover, plastic bags may also cause choking if ingested.

Another prime disadvantage of plastic bags are, they are non decomposable materials. Hence, the only way to get rid of these plastic bag is by burning them. However burning it will relase a huge amount of CO2 and other harmfull gased into the air would detetoriate our eco-system. Inhaling these gases might lead to numerous disease.

To conclude, Plastic bags has a negative impact on our environment causing biomagnification, choking and other other adverse effect. In order to protect our environment, it is advisable to use recycleable plastics or paper bags over plastic bags to endure a sustainable life