Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a university known fact that plastic bags used impacts negatively on the planet. However, I think banning plastic bags is not a solution for the environmental problems. It is already a part of our routine and the replacement of plastic can be more harmful for varies reasons.

Everybody will agree that plastic in general caused many side effects. They pollute our land and made crops and plants difficult to grow and contribute to useless lands. Plastic bags are also very hard and take a long time to decompose. The usage become uncontrollable and most of them are not being recircle. The news on TV and ads are always pointing out how bad plastic bag are for animals, ocean, health, etc. Those are the reasons that might form many concerns.

Although, there may have some advantages of banning plastic bags, the replacement of plastic bag brings more problems. Replacing plastic is already on progress and it is not looking better. Fast food restaurants offer paper bags and straw which are hard to recircle. To produce paper, we have to cut down forest and it will affect our climate changes and all other follow-up problems. I also think making reusable bags is less costly than buying paper bags at a time every day.

In conclusion, banning plastic bags is not as realistic as making regulation to recircle all plastic and also restrictions on then cannot solve all problems. I believe with government’s help, policy can be made to save our earth and lifestyle.