Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

It is an increasingly issue in many wealthy countries facing, which are malnutrition and overweight. Some individuals are of the opinion that we should pose a tax on junk food that can alleviate this problem. Personally, i partly agree with school of thought due to some major reasons that would be elucidated in this essay.

Admittedly, prepared foods is extremely prevalent on the streets in rich countries nowadays because of its convenience and time consuming. However, it has been scientifically proven that such food is not enough nutrients which are essentially nutritious for human body. Instead of complementing necessary nutrition, the majority of fast food contains sugary and fatty substance, which is the main factor causing obesity and malnutrition. Implementing a tax on fast food’s ingredients, therefore, could minimize its consumption, especially among low-income groups. When the price go up, people may be more likely to choose cheaper and healthier alternatives. As a result, this could help construct a healthy and stable community.

One the other hand, taxation is not a way to tackle the deeper causes of poor nutrition and obesity. The key to address this issue is to have a nutritious knowledge properly because if citizen can distinguish what nutrients that they need and how to cook the meal with enough nutrient, they can low ricks of lacking nutrition and overweight. In addition, some low-income families may not have easy access to affordable, healthy food. Therefore, the government should also invest in public health education and ensure that healthy options are widely available and affordable for every inhabitants.

In conclusion, although taxing fast food might help reduce poor dietary habits, it should not be the only address. A more comprehensive approach that includes education and improved access to nutritious food would be more effective.